perks of being sensitive

After recently (and really, throughout my whole life) having been criticized for being “too sensitive,” feeling “too much,” and letting emotions get to me, I’ve gotten to a point where people’s words have stuck to me and become to sound like my own. Without thinking, I’ve started to beat myself up for being the way I am, for caring, when everyone says I just shouldn’t. Suck it up, Anna, and stop being so sensitive. Why do you let yourself react and feel? The sad part is, I didn’t realize I was doing this until I came across this quote:

I used to dislike being sensitive. I thought it made me weak. But take away that single trait, and you take away the very essence of who I am. You take away my conscience, my ability to empathize, my intuition, my creativity, my deep appreciation of the little things, my vivid inner life, my keen awareness to others pain and my passion for it all.

Even if everyone around me looks down on my sensitivity, in reality, it’s one of my greatest strengths. And how wonderfully validating that is to hear. 🙂

3 responses to “perks of being sensitive

Leave a Reply

